Kitty and Cadaver

Welcome one and all to the first post in the world of Kitty and Cadaver!

This project was born from my love of stories in which rock and roll saves the world from monsters! Never finding enough of them, I decided to write one of my own. Naturally, when writing a story about music used as magic to defeat the dark, I soon determined that I’d have to write songs to go with the story.

I last played an instrument 30 years ago, so the next natural step was to turn to my niece, musician Jess Harris, to write the actual music for the lyrics I was penning. Then I thought, I really need some artwork to go with this planned website, and Nathan Holden, the talented artist who drummed in Jess’s last band, was brought on board.

The more I thought about this potential world – a band with 500 years of music history, the different styles of music and art we could include, my own background of engaging with official works through fanfiction – the more I thought how cool it would be to invite others to participate in this world of music and magic and monsters and mayhem, if they were so inclined.

To that end, I’ve included a creative commons licence to cover anyone who gets the urge to respond to Kitty and Cadaver with creativity of their own. The short version is, you’re welcome to play in the sandpit as long as you’re not doing anything commercial with it.

(Having said that, if you have a neat idea for something commercial, talk to me. I’m open to the idea of partnerships and licensing so that all the creative parties get a fair deal.)

But all that is aside and for a much later date, when you’ve actually had a chance to read the first few chapters and hear the music! I’ll be blogging story chapters, short stories, artwork, posts about the Kitty and Cadaver writing process, links to songs/art/craft/etc that strike me as Kitty-related and maybe get some guest writers from time to time.

In the meantime, read about the creative team, read about Kitty and the band, and subscribe to the blog for updates!

New to Kitty and Cadaver? Find out about the project in About Kitty and Cadaver or start from chapter one at Read the Book.

Leave a Reply

