Songs: Bury My Heart by Narrelle M Harris and Jess Harris

Alex sings only the chorus of this song in Chapter Six, which he wrote some years before for his boyfriend, Kurt. Here’s the song in full.

 

I’m running untethered
Across the planet’s skin
Fighting to keep all the
Demons in
My friends at my back
My love by my side
I’ll fight the good fight
Till the devils or I
Have died

My voice is my armour,
Blade and shield
These words, these tones
Are a weapon I wield
They herald our war
Lament what we’ve lost
And they give comfort
When we count
The cost

And we have no home
But the places we stay
Anchored awhile
And we sleep where we may
Our burdens are heavy
And the light is grey
So when the end comes
my home
Is wherever
you bury my heart.
wherever
you bury my heart.

Know that while it beats, this vital organ,
Every breath that inhales oxygen,
And blood I shed, it’s all for you
Bury my heart when I’m dead and done
My soul is yours and it lives on
It lives on

And we have no home
But the places we stay
Anchored awhile
And we sleep where we may
Our burdens are heavy
And the light is grey
When the end comes my home
Is wherever you bury my heart.
wherever you bury my heart.

New to Kitty and Cadaver? Find out about the project in About Kitty and Cadaver or start from chapter one at Read the Book.

Leave a Reply

